Poets logo

Bittersweet in the End

A poem by me.

By CatherinePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I told you I can't

I told you that was the last time

I told you I was done with all of it

Yet here I am

Like a coward

I was too afraid to die

Too afraid to even tell you why

That even though I hated it all

I fell in love with the world

I fell in love with life

And somehow that love was enough

It was enough to make me hesitate

To wonder if I was making a mistake

No matter how much pain I endured

My stupid love for life

It kept me anchored to the world

Because I had so much yearning

For what life could be

That my lack of hope

Simply meant my days were spent in agony

Wanting to do better

But knowing I wouldn’t

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Catherine

I am a 20-year-old college student who deals with depression and anxiety and uses writing and poetry to understand it better. This is my raw feelings put into words, and this is me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.