Poets logo

Bittersweet

A Poem

By Mihaela VasilevaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Let us play, let us play.

Let us melt the blue away.

I seek to find a better day.

I seek to know what to say.

Be it and that as it may,

I don’t know if I must stay.

Morning comes and I lay

My sorrows while I sway.

How...

bitter

sweet

this all is.

Poison touches the lips unknowingly

And when it reaches our tongue

And goes down our throats

We feel the burn.

But...rather than dealing judgement

Or despising it

We crave its sweet nectar.

Every inch of our skin and of our being

Yearns to taste.

Oh Lord.

How good it all feels.

At least that’s what I thought,

Before I read the label

And the only words I could make out

Under terms of use was

“Do not ingest if you fear a broken heart.”

“Do not ingest if you have cried.”

“If ingested, poison control is unavailable.”

Well.

That’s that.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Mihaela Vasileva

I write based on heart. I love based on thought. I think based on truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.