Poets logo

Bitter/Sweet

What's in a Name?

By S. A. CrawfordPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
11
Photo by SHVETS production via Pexels

This is an entry to Randy Baker's "Prompted: #1" poetry challenge.

*

My father wanted call me 'Mhairi',

a name that sounds like a whisper,

but in truth means bitter.

His mind remains an enigma to me;

I believe his thoughts cascade and crash.

They live in a labyrinth with no exit,

and so he wanted to call me Mhairi -

perhaps to make me fierce...

My mother did not want me to be bitter,

she wanted to cover me in velvet.

She wanted sweetness,

she wanted my name to be a serenade.

"Cherie" (my darling) - spelled wrong.

Maybe she fancied it an ethereal song.

She filled me with sweetness,

but before too long,

the sharp edges formed.

And so I am her bitter-sweet darling.

Family
11

About the Creator

S. A. Crawford

Writer, reader, life-long student - being brave and finally taking the plunge by publishing some articles and fiction pieces.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Oh, I love this, that wholeness, more than the sum of the parts.

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    Ohh, this is so, so stunning. Brilliantly done and incredibly moving. 💗

  • Oooo, this was so fascinating! The affect of parenting on children. Loved your poem!

  • Great take on the challenge, and to borrow your title , bitter sweet

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Be careful of those bitter sweet edges, they can fester and burst forth. Hone them and be kind to them. Life is a challenge.

  • Heather Hubler4 months ago

    Oh this gave away so much in so few words. What a fantastic take on the challenge :)

  • Ha Le Sa4 months ago

    You're doing amazing work

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    Gorgeous!

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Oh...this is lush. SA! Loved this take on Randy's challenge. Reads so beautifully and sounds amazing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.