Poets logo

Biscuit

A Cautionary Tale About AI

By Dana CrandellPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
62
Biscuit
Photo by Onur Binay on Unsplash

We bought a little robot

To help us clean the floor.

It wasn't real expensive,

We could have spent much more,

*

But all the bells and whistles,

Self-dumping and the like,

Seemed frivilous and wasteful,

So we bought this little tyke.

*

We named our robot "Biscuit"

Because it seemed to fit,

But since I've got to know it,

I call it "Little Sh*t."

*

It beeps and plays a little tune

When it begins to suck.

It even speaks some funny lines,

Like, "Help! My brush is stuck!"

*

It knows its way around the house,

And wipes from door to door,

By dragging anything behind

You left upon the floor.

*

It interrupts my writing

By bludgeoning my feet

Until I back out from the desk,

Acknowledging defeat.

*

When Biscuit hits a threshold,

Because the floors aren't level,

It bumps and spins and whirls, as if

Possessed by Robot Devil.

*

When all the rooms have been attacked,

It finds its way home soon

And parks its happy little butt

And plays a happy tune.

*

And when the little sh*t is done,

Everything's dust free

Until I empty out its tray,

And then, the dust's on me.

*

But Biscuit is a toddler,

Whom we hope one day will grow,

Into a real, live robot

We'll all be proud to know.

*

Meanwhile, my friends and neighbors,

Please heed my warning well,

If you buy the cheaper model,

Prepare for AI hell!

***

slam poetryhumor
62

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (54)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz4 months ago

    Congratulations on the year end award. You deserve every piece of recognition. Cannot see what you have in store for us in 2024

  • Andrea Corwin 5 months ago

    I have a Euphy robot vacuum so can relate. Have to block areas so she doesn't get stuck and I frequently forget she is running behind a closed door!

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Hahahahah! This is so funny and very well written! Congratulations on your top story !!

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    “Into a real life live robot” made me lol!! Very fun & enjoyable piece Dana. 😊👍 Excellent work! Congrats on this top story too!

  • Good one Dana!!! 🤪

  • Avila Osinta 5 months ago

    Love it! nice and humorous!

  • Waseem Chem5 months ago

    Great work

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    This is bloody great, pal. I tip my hat to you for this fun and so well written Top Story. So much better written than that last line right there....call myself a writer? lol. Anyway, fine work, as ever. Loved it a lot.

  • Kulshum Khatoon5 months ago

    The playful tone and clever rhyming make it an enjoyable read, and the humor adds a delightful touch to the narrative. Thank you for sharing this entertaining piece with us!

  • Haha too great! I have a robo vac we named it swiper. But I call it doesn't work. They are great but not so much with little ones who leave things on the floor lol or too many pets though mine will navigate around their poop

  • Nicole Poston5 months ago

    Love it!

  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    Love it, Congratulations on the Top Story!!!

  • Caroline Jane5 months ago

    🤣 Great poem. Love that you named it 🤣

  • Sam Eliza Green5 months ago

    This was so unique and playful. I always like to imagine they're having sweet little dreams when they return to the dock. Thanks for the whimsical read!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    Hahaha! This was hilarious Dana!! I laughed so hard!! Congrats on Top Story, my friend!! 🎉

  • Rebecca Morton5 months ago

    This was so fun! I have a cheaper version that does not sing. It beeps when it's stuck. It does remind me of caring for a toddler. Now I need to give it a name! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Gerald Holmes5 months ago

    This is f**king hilarious and so true. We have a Roomba that was a gift from family a few of years ago. We used it for a little while until we noticed it getting into knock down, all out fights with our dog. I guess Mei Li got tired of the F**king thing trying to eat her tail.

  • Brenton F5 months ago

    And this is why we don't have one! I'm sure your piece won't hinder sales in any way though!

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    Love it! :)

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    Hilarious!!! loved it

  • Brenton F5 months ago

    B R I L L I A N T !

  • Leslie Writes5 months ago

    This is great 🤣

  • That sucks! Your clever poem made me smile. Well done!

  • Atomic Historian5 months ago

    Hilarious!!!

  • The Dani Writer5 months ago

    😂 Oh my! I never expected...suspected... That...was COOL!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.