Poets logo

Birthday Poem

44 edition

By Cali LoriaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Birthday Poem
Photo by Keagan Henman on Unsplash

I filled

a

cart

with all the things

I want to buy you

for your birthday

knowing I’ll never

click

purchase

or call you

at

9:37

to honor your mother’s memory

again

this year

I’ll light a candle

for your

number

blocked

so I don’t have to

hear

your

voice

or know

how

your

child

bride

bids

our

child

to oblige

this

happy

birthday

song

my therapist

says

I’m window shopping

for the fantasy

where I can

almost

have

it

all

where I somehow keep my

head

in the matter

while I watch you

have your cake

and

eat

it

too

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Cali Loria

Over punctuating, under delivering.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.