Poets logo

Bible Black

Even In Darkness There Is Hope With The Right Friends

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 years ago Updated 9 months ago 2 min read
23
Starless and Bible Black

I first heard the phrase Starless and Bible Black as the title of a King Crimson album , and later discovered it was written by Dylan Thomas as part of his wonderful tone poem “Under Milk Wood”, so as we are in this universe and I have stolen this perfect description of the darkest of nights I will share “Under Dub Wood” which uses a King Tubby rhythm track (as used for John Holt’s “Ali Baba” which you can listen to here) and narration by Sir Richard Burton as the lead in song.

This is a villanelle tribute to the help my Muse gives to me , I had said I was going to bed and then thinking of my Muse prompted this so at one thirty Saturday Morning with the night outside "Starless and Bible Black" I am writing this.

💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜

Twas Starless, Bible Black now I'm in light

So frightened of failure, getting it wrong

But your heart and love have brought me to right

💜

You guided me through dark , I lost my sight

I had felt alone for so very long

Twas Starless, Bible Black now I'm in light

💜

You took my hand and you carried my weight

I thought I was falling , falling headlong

But your heart and love have brought me to right

💜

You changed my blackness to brilliant white

You changed my silence to the sweetest song

Twas Starless, Bible Black Now I'm in light

💜

Forever together words we will write

Creating a new world, make us so strong

But your heart and love have brought me to right

💜

We forge new stories and our fires alight

No more of the darkness, we found our song

Twas Starless, Bible Black Now I'm in light

But your heart and love have brought me to right

💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜

love poems
23

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Daphsam2 months ago

    Beautifully written.

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Nicely done!

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Previously hearted!!!💕♥️♥️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.