Poets logo

Beneath a tranquil sky

A quiet conversation

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 5 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
4
Photo: RGT

I saw a damsel drifting by

Adorned in white,

Marble against the sky.

Her eyes downcast, melancholy.

Barefoot, she stood.

I asked her why.

For this, dear sir, behold, cast down thine eye.

As guardian here I stand,

Keeper of repose to all who 'neath do lie

At peace below this tranquil sky.

Just then, the nymph did pluck

From delicate bloom, a petal

And, letting fall the offering,

Rejoined her calling.

I did as fair muse bade

And looked upon earth's cradle beneath.

To see five sweet souls in paradise.

Would, dear miss, I had such governess as thee

To watch over me when soon I lay, ne'er to rise

I would not fret my coming demise

Knowing that you would stand nearby,

Forever sentinel to my sleep,

Beneath a tranquil sky.

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

Monument, Beckenham Cemetery, Kent, England. Photo: RGT

Thanks for reading

nature poetrysad poetryinspirational
4

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    I agree with Rene, free form feels like a perfect style for this! Your poem was so beautifully written!

  • Rene Peters5 months ago

    I love how it's written. I think free form is great for it!

  • Test5 months ago

    I think it beautiful and you should try to stop over thinking it x Prose is the manipulated version of the heart, and poetry is the essence of it. There is no understanding to be found other than your own truth. I know that sounds very 'hippy' but honestly poetry is where you get to be whoever and whatever x IMHO at least 🤍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.