Poets logo

Beloved

A Poem

By D.S. FisichellaPublished about a month ago 2 min read
4
Beloved
Photo by Everton Vila on Unsplash

I heard Him calling in the garden

'mongst the trees

His singing soothed my soul

and brought me to my knees

His gentle love filled every single

lonely part of me

My Lover took my hand and

placed there a gold ring

He lifted me off my knees,

and gently to His arms

Took me home, cared for me

and protected me from harm

We laughed and danced each night after the dinner I prepared

And after love, we lay down

on the blissful bed we shared

One day my Love turned to his side

and rose before the dawn

He kissed me on the lips and

soon after was gone

I went about my business

tending to our little home

But my Beloved tarried and

soon I was forlorn

Weeks passed and I cried in the empty bed that we once shared

Until a stranger came and

I was caught up in his stare

Carefully I treaded, showed him kindness for a while

He called me fair and kissed me,

but our hearts were beguiled

He left before the sun rose up but first he promised me

He loved me and one day

He would come back to set me free

No sooner was he gone over the hills and out of sight

When sweetest song rose to my ears

From distant morning light

My heart leaped at the sight of my Beloved coming home

He ran and lifted me up to his lips and in his arms

Inside, I felt a vile and wretched lonely emptiness

How could I tell my Faithful Love I stained my wedding dress?

He looked at me as lovingly as e'er he had before

I wept, He caught me 'fore I fell in shambles to the floor

Confession on my lips, I watched light leave my Lover's eyes

I ran from home, sure that my heart had met its just demise

I wandered in the darkness, for weeks, days, months at a time

I was the wind, the raging sea calm,

not my tortured mind

I prayed for death but heard nothing but silence every morn

Until one day I heard a voice through the wood, 'twas a song

I heard Him calling in the garden 'mongst the trees

His singing soothed my soul and

brought me to my knees

He kissed me, carried me to the spring where he bathed me, then

From his pack he produced some pearls and a white gown and said:

"Beloved, let's go home. You are my love, my life, my bride...

From this day forth I wish you'd never again leave my side."

Ashamed, I turned away, He brought my face up to his lips.

"I forgive you, Love," he said,

"won't you please come with me?"

Every night I made my bed to swim with shameful tears

That is, until his loving song had reached my hopeful ears

Until one day the tears ran dry and still, He lay there by my side

The light had come back to his eyes,

"You're my Beloved and my Bride."

I heard Him calling in the garden once

Amongst the trees

His singing soothed my soul

and brought me to my knees

His gentle love went on to fill

Each lonely part of me

And now I know that my Beloved came

To set me free.

#love #lovestory #forgiveness #infidelity #marriage #redemption

Balladsurreal poetrylove poemsinspirationalart
4

About the Creator

D.S. Fisichella

I write because sometimes it's the only thing that makes sense.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalaniabout a month ago

    Wow - storytelling at its finest! Well done.

  • “M”about a month ago

    ♡♡

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.