Poets logo

Belly Of The Beast

Facing The Monster Inside

By Gary RagnarssonPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
7

For years my mind has been a prison,

The depths of which they’ll never know.

Tip-toeing the edge of the cliff-face,

Now down into the darkness I go.

*

No longer will I tread the boundary,

Or run from the blackness inside,

Down that deep hole, I fall with open arms,

Where my psyche has nowhere to hide.

*

Stare down this beast with its empty eyes,

Leap freely through it’s gaping jaw,

Through its ravenous bowels I bravely traverse,

Armed with courage, prepared for a war.

*

It’s time to embrace this shadow,

Accept the lost, unresolved, and the pain.

And emerge from this darkness a new man,

Where the light renders death without name.

* * * * *

I wrote this poem on the way into my 7 Day Isolation Challenge, and I absolutely fell in love with it! I think it perfectly captures the reasoning behind the event and the mood and emotions going in.

Looking back on it now I feel the same about it as I did then, and I honestly think it’s one of my best and most heartfealt pieces. Perhaps that’s down to the gravity of the event itself, or the pure timing of it. It was definitely needed, and over the next few days I’ll be releasing the drafted journal from inside that room over in ‘chapters.’ Be sure to subscribe or follow on Facebook to be notified as those pieces are published 😊

surreal poetrysad poetryinspirational
7

About the Creator

Gary Ragnarsson

Deep thinker, stoic, and writer from the UK, sharing everything from philosophical insights to my most intimate, personal stories.

In a world consumed by chasing more, I’m over here embracing less on purpose.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Colt Henderson6 months ago

    This was a heartfelt poem and it resonated with me. Thank you for sharing.

  • This was so raw and real! I loved it so much!

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    The hardest - and most important battle. Great poem!

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Excellent poem Gary…indeed very heartfelt.. but identifiable to many! ☺️👏 Your upcoming work in chapters sounds grouse.

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    The battlefield inside our mind

  • Arslan6 months ago

    quiet well

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.