Poets logo

Bellflower

A Glosa Poem

By Mya DoerksenPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
1
Bellflower
Photo by Andrik Langfield on Unsplash

Trapped in a tower

A blue bird in an ivory cage

Open the cracking oak-crusted hatch

I descend the staircase.

The stairs are as cold as night

Ice biting my feet

Find a rotting door left locked

Beside the stone wall.

Fists folded into balls of fire

Freedom, a second grasp away

I break through the old barracade

And clamber over the scattered brick lintel.

Life flowing through the grooves in my palm

Grass blades between toes

I resist the urge to flee

To stop and stare across the meadow.

love poemsnature poetryfact or fictionexcerptsart
1

About the Creator

Mya Doerksen

Hi there, I'm a student, a writer and an aspring author. At the moment I'll mostly be posting shorts, school assignments or challenge submissions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    The imagery here was so vivid! I loved this poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.