Poets logo

Bella's Big Day

The Miracle of Birth

By Anthony ChanPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

It was a beautiful day in late November (2019), a few days before Thanksgiving, when I received the call that my granddaughter Bella was on her way. I quickly gathered my things and headed to the hospital to witness a miracle. The excitement and anticipation were palpable as I walked through the hospital doors and made my way to my daughter’s room.

As I entered the hospital room, I was struck by the sterile smell that permeated the air. It was a mixture of cleaning supplies and antiseptic that was both overpowering and reassuring at the same time. I took a deep breath and tried to steady myself for what was to come.

The sounds of the hospital staff checking on my daughter Catherine and her husband Tony filled the room, as did the beeping of machines and monitors. Seeing my granddaughter was a mix of joy as I witnessed her acclimate to her new world.

After what felt like an eternity, Bella had finally arrived. I watched in awe as the doctors and nurses checked her out to ensure she was okay. Listening to her cries as soon as she took her first breath was the sound that filled the room and brought tears to my eyes.

As the medical staff confirmed everything was okay, I left the room and made my way down to the hospital cafeteria. The smell of the food offered in that venue was a welcome change from the sterile smells of the hospital room. The aroma of freshly brewed coffee and the scent of tasty foods filled the air, and I was grateful for the chance to take a break and nourish my body.

I ordered a lemonade and a turkey sandwich and sat down at a table in the corner. The sound of chatter and the clink of silverware on plates filled the space, and I savored the moment of calm before returning to the hospital room.

When I finally returned to the room, I could hear Bella's cries again. It was a beautiful and heart-wrenching sound, as it reminded me of the pain and struggle of childbirth. But it was also a sound of life and new beginnings, filling me with joy and hope.

And then, the moment I had been waiting for finally arrived. I could hold Bella for the first time, feeling the softness of her skin against mine and the weight of her tiny body in my arms. It was a moment of pure love and awe, and I will never forget the feeling of holding my granddaughter for the first time.

As I held her, I could see a glimmer of her smile for the very first time. It was a tiny, fleeting moment, but it filled me with a sense of wonder and amazement. I knew this little person would go on to experience so much in life, and I felt grateful to be a part of her journey.

The smell of the hospital room had changed again, now filled with the scent of a newborn baby and the sweetness of flowers brought in to celebrate Bella's arrival. It was a mix of comforting and joyful smells, and it made me feel like everything was right in the world.

As the day went on, I watched Catherine and Tony take on the role of new parents with grace and determination. The hospital staff came in and out of the room, checking on Bella and ensuring everything was okay. The sound of the machines and monitors continued to beep and hum in the background, a constant reminder of the medical care that brought Bella safely into the world.

As the day ended, my heart overflowed with love and gratitude. With tears in my eyes, I said goodbye to my precious granddaughter and her proud parents, promising to return the next day to continue celebrating Bella’s birth.

The day had been miraculous, and I knew I had been blessed to witness such a beautiful event just a few days before Thanksgiving Day. As I walked out of the hospital, I felt renewed wonder and appreciation for the world around me. On this day, I had been given the greatest gift of all - new life.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Anthony Chan

Chan Economics LLC, Public Speaker

Chief Global Economist & Public Speaker JPM Chase ('94-'19).

Senior Economist Barclays ('91-'94)

Economist, NY Federal Reserve ('89-'91)

Econ. Prof. (Univ. of Dayton, '86-'89)

Ph.D. Economics

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.