Poets logo

Behold The End

The last moments before the apocalypse.

By Jason Ray Morton Published about a year ago 1 min read
2
Image Created By Author On Dall-E Openai

Something sultry filled the air

in that moment of heat and salty humidity

It washed over the town, and friends sweated everywhere

Some rushing to pay for their stupidity

It was not the beach,

oh no, not for me

I was doing my favorites, and finishing each

before the end came to wash us out to sea

Air and humidity pushed inland with the birds,

their caws of fear filling the skies

A shrill feeling covered my skin

as I walked the streets seeing fear in their eyes

I'd gone for a walk after fixing an ice cream cone,

enjoying that cold, sweet, taste on my tongue

I was only regretting that I had to do it alone,

because with someone special it would have been fun

I could see the wave as it rolled across the blue seas,

and it wouldn't be long now

One last ray of sun on my face, just one, please

The warmth, the sounds, and the sensations before the pow

I sensed everything before being crushed and feeling the ow!

By Author on Dall-E

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    And somehow, with the end so immanent, I bet that ice cream cone tasted great. Well done.

  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Hi Jason ~ Lovely Presentation ~ Your 'Cone' reminded me that there are those that Bite or Lick! Which R/U? Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Authors Community -

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.