Poets logo

Behind Your Battle-lines

We are all unfinished

By Frankie MartinelliPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
4
Behind Your Battle-lines
Photo by Hasan Almasi on Unsplash

We are all unfinished

Not one of us completed,

but I see you there taking those hard hits,

but I'll back you up,

cause you're my Sunshine

You're the one who expanded my mind

You made me feel

When I felt nothing,

and I can be strong for you

Even when you're not looking

What's done in the dark will always come to light

I know those words are not exactly mine,

but I can get behind your battle-lines

The lines you've drawn are battle-lines

We are all unfinished

Not one of us completed,

but I see you taking those hard hits,

but I'll back you up,

cause you're my sunshine

You're the one who expanded my mind

You made me feel

When I felt nothing,

and I can be strong for you

Even when you're not looking

Isn't it crazy how you accept what's fake?

Accepting scraps

Off someone else's plate

This is not love

You're in an obsessed mental state

What's done in the dark will always come to light

I know those words are not exactly mine,

but I can get behind your battle-lines

The lines you've drawn are battle-lines

love poems
4

About the Creator

Frankie Martinelli

Musician.

All work is copyrighted, and is my own.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Amy Hall2 years ago

    This is so sweet with a darker twist maybe resentment at the end - curious. Loved it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.