Poets logo

Behind the Smile

Death

By Ezekiel MorrisonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

The smile scares me, filled with malice and hate.

A pretty face hides it but my instincts scream.

Run.

I hide a knife under my pillow for when she comes.

My mind tells me she might not, it’s wrong.

Fight.

She could be around any corner, behind any door.

My lungs can’t handle it, they need to slow down.

Breath.

Weeks pass but nothing happens.

I still see her at a distance, smiling.

Wait.

She shouldn’t be scary, short and skinny in bright colors.

Her eyes and smile tell me the truth.

Fear.

Her patience makes her more dangerous.

A slow dread rises around me.

Prepare.

Lying in bed, knife in my hand.

Am I safe?

Hide.

My eyes fly open and I swing the knife.

I’m not fast enough.

Pain.

I try to push the teeth out of my throat.

She pulls back with a feral grin, something covering her teeth.

Blood.

Sunken eye sockets and pale skin.

My heart racing to the end.

Death.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ezekiel Morrison

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.