Poets logo

In My Livingroom

Rain on Glass

By Ezekiel MorrisonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

The pitter-patter of rain calms the chaos of my mind,

Water falls down the glass, I see a world I thought I would never find.

The warmth of the cup in my hand seems to fill my soul,

With the soft presence of my wife making me whole.

My wife’s humming seems to brighten the space,

The click-clack of the game she’s playing keeping a steady pace.

I place my book down when the cat demands attention,

Soft purrs rumble out as his back reaches ascension.

His fur is very soft when his little head pushes against mine,

A smile reaches my face feeling rather divine.

He lays down on the back of the couch to watch the rain,

I reach for my book and the world it contains.

The feel of the pages on my fingers is both old and new,

A sip of cocoa before my eyes pull me through.

I sink into the couch pulling my blanket over my toes,

My wife lets out a giggle as I push them over and impose.

Warmth both inside and out makes the cold outside seem far away,

Surrounded by love that I try to convey.

I open the book with a smile and take in the scene,

The comfort I feel could not be more serene.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Ezekiel Morrison

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.