Poets logo

Behind the Polarized Lenses

Just laugh, people

By Cathy holmesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
26
Photo by Stephanie Hau on Unsplash

The shades that cover my eyes can’t protect me

From the truth that lurks in the shadows

A truth that pierces through the reflective coating

And UV protectors

and shines lasers directly into my soul

I am not Okay

Laugh if you will at my jokes

Your laughter is my elixir

But it’s a temporary fix

From the pain that scorches my heart

While it drowns out my screams

Screams that you can’t hear over your laughter

-

What the fuck am I writing?

I don’t even know.

Sometimes it just flows

Sometimes every word cuts like crawling through glass

Or walking over burning stones

But I just keep writing

And joking

Because your laughter makes me smile

Even when that smile is ripping my jaw to shreds

And burning cigarette holes in my palate

I Just put on my shades

And Keep

Joking

Around

sad poetry
26

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    This paints a familiar picture of how we sometimes hide our current feelings and emotions. The use of sunglasses is a perfect coverup. Thanks for sharing.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Aw Cathy, I love this, and can completely relate. I often use comedy as a way to distract others from how I'm really feeling. Thank you so much for sharing this, it really spoke to me. ❤️

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    You and me both, all the time. I love that you share your laughter and your pain. Beautifully penned, my friend :)

  • Ruth Stewartabout a year ago

    Ow! My palate! Very touching. The pain of the joker. Beautifully portrayed.

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    This is outstanding!

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Wonderful! Thank you for sharing this very vulnerable,e piece! 👀

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    This is so open and honest!

  • This is fantastic, just raw

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Made me laugh a second time 😊

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Yes!!! This spoke to me! Great work, Cathy :)

  • Harmony Kent2 years ago

    This moved me so much! 💕🙂

  • Great, great piece!

  • Irene Mielke2 years ago

    I liked your poem. You have a good heart!

  • Wowww this was sooo deep!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Beautiful!!!💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.