Poets logo

Begging Her To Stay

A mother's Love

By AnnaMarie JenemaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Begging Her To Stay
Photo by Jametlene Reskp on Unsplash

I want her to stay,

How I long for winter snow to never melt.

I beg her tires to fall from the axles,

To keep her near.

To cage a bird,

Who has never sang before me,

Yet I can’t help but question,

What if she were to sing?

I long for a mother’s embrace,

And tremble at its absence.

Her words fall bittersweet,

Melodies arranged in sour tones.

Telling me of our alikeness,

Makes the flowers in my ribcage bloom with pride,

As she simultaneously picks these,

Greed glowing from her ghastly eyes.

But I want her to stay,

I beg for her love, a dusty shelf that’s always been empty..

She steals my trophies and accomplishments,

Calling them her own, making me her reflection.

Distance offers salvation from her,

But my heart crumbles; its foundations weren’t quite complete.

I want her to stay,

Beg her to stay,

But it’s best if she goes.

A mother who cannot love,

Isn’t really a mother at all.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

AnnaMarie Jenema

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.