Poets logo

Before the Rainbow

This poem talks about pride month and its origins. ...was born / out of necessity. / it / was born / from the Ashes / of Hate. ~ Like / a deranged / Phenix, / it’s Hate / still lives / today.

By Ben Ray Published 2 years ago 1 min read
2
A transparent Rainbow pride flag overlapping a storm with the title of the poem

I am

Pan.

I am

Non binary.

I am

Queer.

~

These

are parts of

my Identity.

~

These

are parts of

who I am.

~

And

I,

am Proud

of who

I am.

~

June,

Pide month.

a month

dedicated

to all

my queer siblings.

~

June,

a month

filled

with parties,

with Celebrations,

and

with Joy

~

Pride month,

where items,

that can normally,

only be found online.

are now,

in

mainstream stores

~

For

my queer siblings

It may

To be

a time of

Sunshine,

and Rainbows.

~

But,

~

what comes

before a Rainbow?

~

A Storm.

~

The

first pride

Was a riot.

~

Trans woman

of color,

attacking

police officers.

after being,

The Targets

of Polices Brutality,

and

Queerphobic

Laws,

and Actions.

Hoping

that one day

we could all

live free

of societies,

Queerphobic shackles.

~

Pride

month

was born

out of necessity.

it

was born

from the Ashes

of Hate.

~

Like

a deranged

Phenix,

it’s Hate

still lives

today.

~

For

this month,

we reclaim our

identities

at marches

and parties.

~

Then

slip

back into

the closet.

for the Phoenix

of Hate,

Never Dies.

~

So

this month,

when you see

a Rainbow,

Remember

the Storm

that came before.

If you like this poem, fear not! I have many published poems, and there is more on the way! I also have several works of fiction you can look at. For more information, click the link in my bio, or right here: link

Please, heart, tip, subscribe, and tell your friends!

~~Ben

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.