Poets logo

A Secret Love

A poem where you look back on your life from when you met the love of your life, including the poems that guided you from finding your feelings to the one that brought you together. Nothing is gendered so this poem works for those of any gender, that love any gender.

By Ben Ray Published 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
The title in a script font in white on a red heart on a black background

For ease of reading, I have a ~ between each stanza and ~~ separating the poems inside of this poem.

I

Remember,

when we

Meet.

~

There was,

no way

I could

Forget.

~

Even

after,

All

those Years.

~

We were

only Seven.

I was

New

to

the

school.

~

No

Friends.

~

No one

Wants

To be

Friends

With

The Wired Kid.

~

You were

Warm.

And

kind.

Unlike those,

from

my old

school.

~

I was,

Drawn

to you.

Like a

Moth

To a Flame.

Before I

even knew

your name.

~

I needed,

to be,

Close

to you.

I needed,

to become

Your

Friend.

~

But

~

I didn’t

Understand

the Urge.

~

And

~

I didn't

know how,

to make

a Friend.

~

I never

had one

before.

~

People

scared me,

But You,

didn’t feel

like People.

~

So I,

followed,

from afar.

~

And,

~

You noticed

Me

and became

My Friend.

~

My

Best Friend.

~

But,

~

I wanted

More,

but

Of what

I didn’t know

~

In

fifth grade,

I was

told,

about the

Power

of

poetry.

How it

can,

let you

peek,

into your

Subconscious.

~

So,

~

I wrote

a

Poem,

about

my

Best Friend.

~

You are my friend,

That much is true.

But what is this feeling

That I feel around you?

~

You always make me happy,

You always care.

And I know

That you'll always be there.

~

The way you act,

Is so pure and true.

You never pretend

To be anyone but you.

~

You are my friend,

And I love you so.

But are there other feelings

Hidden deep down below?

~

The concept of us,

Always seems to climb.

Up in my mind

Time after time.

Too often it occurs,

Too often it stays.

To be a fleeting thought

Must be more than a phase.

The more I think,

The more it becomes clear.

~

I can not deny

My feelings that lay here.

~

The way you act,

Is so pure and true.

You never pretend

To be anyone but you.

~

You are my friend,

And I love you so.

But are there other feelings

Hidden deep down below?

~

The concept of us,

Always seems to climb.

Up in my mind

Time after time.

Too often it occurs,

Too often it stays.

To be a fleeting thought

Must be more than a phase.

The more I think,

The more it becomes clear.

I can not deny

My feelings that lay here.

~

My feelings deeper

Than friendship,

My feelings

Of love”

~~

I

remember

the Shock,

of

those,

last lines.

“My Feelings of love.”

~

That

was it.

It was

Love.

It always

has been.

~

Love.

~

Now,

All the

pieces

clicked,

things

made sense.

~

but,

~

I was

Terrified.

~

I didn’t

know

what

To do.

~

So,

~

I did,

The

only thing

I could

Think of.

~

Burry

these

Feelings.

Deep

Down,

~

But,

~

They kept,

reservicing,

so I

Kept

Pushing them

Down

Again

and,

again.

~

As

years passed,

I wrote

you poems.

Never

to be seen.

Often,

Reminding myself,

the Dangers

of these

Feelings

~~

“You are perfection.

~

Your hair,

Your smile,

Those big blue eyes.

~

Eyes that,

I could stare at all day.

Eyes that,

I could get lost in.

Eyes that,

I want to stare at

All day.

Eyes that,

I could get lost in.

Eyes that,

I want to get lost in

But I can't.

~

Your arms.

So strong,

So powerful,

Yet they must be

So tender,

Because,

they belong to you.

~

I wish,

That I could be held,

Wrapped in those powerful arms.

How warm and cozy,

That would feel,

~

How safe and secure,

I would be,

Wrapped in those powerful arms.

~

Being held in those arms,

And looking up into,

Those bright blue orbs

~

I can only imagine,

imagine how great that would feel.

~

But it is not meant to be.

For my secret,

I could never tell.

~

For

I would not want.

To risk losing you,

As a friend.

~

For if I told you.

You would not want

To be around me

~

It would be awkward,

for it would be weird.

~

And you would drift away.

Away from me.

~

And I would be left alone.

Alone with my thoughts.

My thoughts of you,

My thoughts of me,

Thoughts that merge,

In my hopes and dreams

A reality that I crave,

One that will not come to be.

~

You and me,

Together

Forever

~

Only in dreams,

Could this be true.”

~~

That was,

the last,

of

my Secret

Poems.

~

For,

You

found it,

by mistake.

~

And,

~

You

told me,

that You,

Loved

Me Too.

~

You

Loved Me,

But were

Afraid,

of

Losing me

as well.

~

Our

Friendship,

was

built,

on

a Mutual,

Secret

Love.

~

A

Love,

that

only

grew.

~

And,

~

Tomorrow,

we will

say:

“I do.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

```````````````````````````````````

If you like this poem, fear not! I have many published poems, and there is more on the way! I also have several works of fiction you can look at. For more information, click the link in my bio, or right here:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Please, heart, tip, subscribe, and tell your friends!

~~Ben Ray

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.