Poets logo

Becoming Me

Stay Mad

By Jerica FloydPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Becoming Me
Photo by Jessica Felicio on Unsplash

11,263 days it took to love the, Who I Am

Wasted time being clay for foreign

Fraudulent hands to mold me

Let them spit those lies

And asked me to drink

Like it was the polyjuice potion to

Becoming them

I contend

Fight off definitions thrown at me

Put who they wanted me to be

On tips of arrows

Then shot them through my heart

Like poison, it coursed through my veins

Locking the, Who I Am away as it flowed through

I conquer

Tossed out expectations and set them ablaze

Used the ashes to bathe in

And came out a phoenix

I scorched bone for a new me to grow

Let her correct my posture and stride

So, they know Queen when they see Queen

30 years, 10 months, 2 days, 12 hours and 43 minutes

To become the, Who I Am

And

Y’all can stay mad

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.