Poets logo

Because of you

I have found myself again

By M. Lynn HosiePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

You tried to break me

I cracked, but I've healed

You tried to push me

I stumbled, but I stood

You tried to keep me

I paused, but I got away

All that you have done will not be the definition of me

Because of you, I cried

Because of you, I hurt

Because of you, I fell

The floor embraced me, but I got up

I now stand tall

I now stand proud

I now stand peaceful

Because of you, I know what I am capable of

Because of you, I know what I deserve

Because of you, I know what I will never be again

I will be who I am meant to be;

Loved

Valued

Respected

I may falter

I may fail

But it will never again be, because of you

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.