Poets logo

Because I Could Not Stop for Death

Waxing Centrifugal

By Gerard DiLeoPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Because I Could Not Stop for Death
Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

Because I could not stop for Death--

I used Technology

The Centrifuge held just Myself

And Immortality

My Chromosomes--They knew no haste

I sought Apotheosis

My Hopes and dreams and birthdays too

In flight from Apoptosis

I lived past Prime, past mem'ries made

In science co-dependency--

I lived past my time and health--

And life expectancy--

Or rather--Life passed me--

My Spin was never Spun--

My component parts all separate--

Never to rejoin One--

I dreamt centifugal round and round

My Core forbidden fruit

Frozen fast and vitally paused

A hair's breadth from absolute

Since then – ’tis Centuries – and yet

Feels shorter than longevity

The funds ran out to underwrite

My cryo'ternity –

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned church in Hull, MA. (Phase I was New Orleans and everything that entails. Hippocampus, behave!

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

[email protected]

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Gerard DiLeo (Author)8 months ago

    This is a tongue-in-cheek take on the Emily Dickinson poem, "Because I Could Not Stop for Death." (https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/47652/because-i-could-not-stop-for-death-479)

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    This was a great piece about time and mortality! Really engaging and thought provoking!

Gerard DiLeoWritten by Gerard DiLeo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.