Poets logo

Becalmed

Where I Am

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
10
An AI Image By The Author

Introduction

I'm in another of those periods where I am unable to write. It is slightly weird because there are lots of things going through my head but I just don't know how to put the things together. I was thinking of maybe doing a piece on words, or a story with the theme of being becalmed, and the Brian Eno piece came on the player so that may have influenced me, then there are the two current Vocal challenges "Smooth" and "Identity".

I have seen a lot of Senryū being entered for the "Smooth" challenge, and this post probably gives you an insight into my identity so, in theory, I could enter this into both challenges. "Smooth" is just poetry and "Identity" can be poetry in the fact that it does not specify a community.

So What Am I Doing About It?

First of all, I am writing this piece.

In addition to that I have twelve pieces that I submitted to Vocal Resources two months ago, but I have been very disappointed that I have not even received a response from them about any one of them, so I am republishing them at the rate of two a day (possibly just one today as I will be publishing this one as well and I do not want to flood people's notifications with a dozen publications, I know if that happens to me with someone I immediately unsubscribe because it implies AI story generation, and I would not want people to think that of me, although I have been accused a few times of plagiarism.

My reading of "Orlam" has stalled, not for any particular reason, just that I have been busy and when I sit down, I have not been able to give it the attention it deserves, and it is most inspirational as you can read here.

The other thing is that I have not been having as much music playing as I should and that is another form of inspiration, but Brian Eno's "Another Green World" has obviously done something to kick-start that.

I also have lots of poetry ideas, including lists for the "Plagiaristic Poetry" series so it's not as though the material is not there, it's just that my ability to weave those stories is taking a rest, so to speak, the "Plagiaristic Poetry" series has been going for over six months with the ultimate aim of the publication of a self-published anthology

I know that situations like this may cause others to doubt their identity and worth as a creator, but not with me. It's a bit like when you lose something and you have to stop continually thinking about it in order to find the item, and my creativity is always lurking somewhere and that is something I have to thank many people who have shown confidence in me and have encouraged me.

Concluding With A Smooth Senryū

I have decided to enter this in both Vocal challenges because I believe this has given you an insight into my identity, and here is a Smooth Senryū to conclude this piece.

Another AI Image By The Author

🌊🌊♒🌊🌊

Becalmed, Glass Smooth Sea

Sailing Boat Reflection, Me

A Reflection, See

🌊🌊♒🌊🌊

surreal poetryslam poetrylistinspirationalhow toexcerptsart
10

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist5 months ago

    I am so glad to see you working out your writing difficulty here. It is such an incentive for me. And how you put song to most things you write is amazing to me! I also like that you are writing about not writing, while you are in the middle of not writing and enter it into 2 challenges!! So cool 😎

  • Xine Segalas5 months ago

    I like the way you continue to write and push through - in spite of the feeling of not being able to write. Fertile soils need rest sometimes - at least that's what I try to tell myself in dry spells. Thanks for sharing.

  • I'm so glad you've got more ideas for the Plagiaristic series! Loved your Senryu. Also, if you aren't able to write, that's okay. Like Randy said, it's good to rest!

  • It is good to rest from time to time. Even God thought & thinks so.

  • Salman siddique5 months ago

    immensely talented author

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.