Poets logo

Beauty is...

Allow me to show you what I see.

By Camilla RichterPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Beauty is...
Photo by Javardh on Unsplash

They say “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.”

But I’m finding out, as I’m getting older,

that I just don’t think they know what beauty is.

If someone creates something beautiful,

where do you think it came from?

How could you not think that they’re beautiful too?

If someone does something selfless for you,

doesn’t it make your heart bloom?

Wouldn’t you want to cultivate, imitate, and reciprocate that beautiful blossom?

How could you not think that that makes you beautiful, too?

So for anyone out there that doesn’t think of themselves as beautiful,

allow me to disagree.

Allow me to redefine the word beauty.

Beauty is… when your favorite person falls asleep next to you, and you can’t stop staring.

Beauty is… dancing at a bus stop to stave off the cold, and inadvertently spreading warmth to all who see.

Beauty is… a mother who chooses to love even through her imperfections (and unwashed hair).

Beauty is… choosing strength, even when no one else believes in you.

Beauty is… inviting a stranger to become a friend.

Beauty is… “I saw this and thought of you.”

Beauty is… choosing joy, when there are so many things telling you to choose bitterness.

Beauty is… recognizing your faults and growing from them.

Beauty is… an unexpected smile.

Beauty is… lighting up your face when you talk about your favorite hobbies.

Beauty is… showing up when all you want to do is hide.

Beauty is… watching someone tend their garden.

Beauty is… a parent holding their newborn child.

Beauty is… so much more than makeup tips and dieting tricks and stitch fix and new kicks.

I have seen So Many More beautiful people than not.

And maybe – just maybe – I’m more beautiful than I thought.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Camilla Richter

I've used fiction as an escape ever since I developed an imagination, and now I'm sharing pieces of my world with you. I'm a wife, mom, and an awkward introvert who professes her undying love to baristas in the drive through.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Michael Darvallabout a year ago

    Beauty is... an unexpected smile Brilliant line.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.