Poets logo

Bear Hugs

A Poem on Being Expressive

By Michelle LiewPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Bear Hugs
Photo by Oxana Lyashenko on Unsplash

Each of us must know someone who doesn't quite know how to say "I love you," be it a spouse or parent. The lack of demonstrativeness can be a little disconcerting and leave one feeling a little unappreciated. Coming from Asia, where people have this tendency, a lack of expression of feeling is a norm for some.

What makes them this way? Experience, and influence. When those around us are less expressive, is not surprising not to be, as well.

How can we be more expressive or teach someone else to be? We communicate our needs to them openly and with the understanding that people have problems emoting.Some may show their appreciation in other ways. We set boundaries, giving them time and space.

It's possible to teach how to give the bear hugs we sorely need at times. Enjoy these free verses.

Bear hugs

To warm

The cold envelopes your being

Bear hugs

To calm

Your tears

When mom

Takes your doll away

Bear hugs

to tell you

How proud I am

That you had a

Perfect test score

Bear hugs

To show you

How sorry I am

That you boyfriend

Broke up

WIth you

Bear Hugs

To spur you on

To that promotion

Bear Hugs

To show you

My heart.

inspirational

About the Creator

Michelle Liew

Hi, i am an English Language teacher cum freelance writer with a taste for pets, prose and poetry. When I'm not writing my heart out, I'm playing with my three dogs, Zorra, Cloudy and Snowball.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Manisha Dhalaniabout a month ago

    Gotta love bear hugs - but only from people I really love. I'm not one to hug a random person, haha. Nice poem.

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    Thank you for teaching about bear hugs! 😍

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    I'm a hugger but I don't like to be hugged. Like I must be the one to initiate it, lol. Loved your poem!

Michelle LiewWritten by Michelle Liew

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.