Poets logo

Beacon

Poem

By Muhammad iqbalPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Beacon
Photo by Allen Cai on Unsplash

Beacon

In this infinite Desert of Dead land,

I sought for a drop of hope.

Every dune, a mirage unfurled,

Leading me down despair's steep slope.

Onward I tread,

Holding onto my deliquescing life.

Deficient existence nibbled my heart,

Neared the last ounce of my meagre strife,

Wished my wailing heart for a lethal dart.

Know I did,

O

But the suffering endured cleansed me not

Of the doubting devil and its evil horde,

Darkness darkened my dawn's divine knot.

G

Another mortal suffering such fate

A life lived with a longing for Life

Life with no bleeding hearts of hate

A life not tainted with greed's rife.

With I bid

As I felt my death a breath away,

That I shall offer the Life given by Him to Him

That I shall live to light His mansion's gateway,

A Breathtaking prayer, as I breathed my last hymn,

In Pain's amid

A dark wave swept across my mind.

Floating in a scintillating tranquility,

A soft nectarine voice did my ears find

I know not, whether I lie in the devil's or Divinity's vicinity.

"Beloved Child,

Thou hast surrendered thy soul

And I shall captain thy ship

To steer it towards thy goal

Of realizing thine oneness with the Divine script."

Tears welled,

I Bowed down to the majestic form

For whose blessing humanity craves.

With overwhelming humility i submitted to the Divine norm

And strived to be a beacon To those groping in the dark caves.

B

J

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.