Poets logo

Beach

Vancouver Island

By Ward NorcuttPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
5
Beach
Photo by Ridham Parikh on Unsplash

The shore waves crash and splish

left to right left to right and right

then right in center

on a loop

The breeze is seaweed full

from the North

hinting Fall

but the sun still streams down

from mid afternoon

over-heating my whole right side

I rotisserie half-way

and then again

A best-day-ever dog ambles by

straining at its leash

We all, captured by it, share our smiles

our hearts a happy size bigger

The tide is inching its flotsam greensweed ever closer

A rogue threatens - a narrow miss

I look beside me left and right

We are betwixt two strewn lines

an inevitably shrinking no man’s land

We retreat hasty for higher ground

I plop a small stone into the sea

calmer now

Its joyful splash is a celebration

and the applause ripples cascade away into infinity

My son, home for a visit, leaves us to bask

My son, safe

and sound.

Mel has settled into a beach nap

a talent of hers

The sand pocked and pebbled

nestles against her wet skin.

A harbor seal bobs its head up

shiny and black and disappears forever.

I look down at the once behind me log

It seems a snake petrified and sunweathered

It’s the knotty eye, just there

and the gaping, misshapen jaw

My eyes well at the perfect beauty of it all.

nature poetry
5

About the Creator

Ward Norcutt

Playwright and poet.

My goal as a writer is to write thoughtful pieces of prose, poetry and stage plays. Hopefully, the end results are entertaining and engaging, with layers of meaning that make sense to the whole or a theme therein.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Gorgeous imagery and flow. Well done.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Magnificent!!!👏💖😊💕

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Beautiful, calming words and imagery that pulled me in and made me feel like I was right there experiencing it too. Great work!

  • Ryan Smith2 years ago

    You achieve great depth with your economy of words, the phrasings are full of life.

  • LilyRose2 years ago

    You write beautifully.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.