Poets logo

Be careful what you wish for…

It may not be enough

By Shelby MundayPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Be careful what you wish for…
Photo by Darius Bashar on Unsplash

And now I sit here in this unwelcome silence, and it feels so hard to breathe

Instead of air it’s oil in my lungs, the quiet threatens to suffocate me entirely

All alone here in this darkness, feeling unsafe and feeling used

Had I any idea how empty I’d feel, well I’d like to think I’d have thought more than once to think things through

And the saddest part is sometimes love just ain’t enough, we can pour ourselves until we’re gone

But at the end of the day it’s a little too quiet, and once more in never ending silence, I’ll stand here alone

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.