Poets logo

Baste Me...

Stream of Consciousness, introspective poem thing.

By Paul StewartPublished 10 days ago 1 min read
Baste Me...
Photo by Jonathan Cooper on Unsplash

baste me...baste me

like a chicken or turkey

or maybe a guinea fowl

in sweet nectar

tainted by vinegar

nutmeg me between thy legs

nutmeg me and roast my ...

walnuts, chestnuts

chess nuts make their move

chest...butts, lets groove

needle to the groove

groove of my heart

heart, mind and soul

soul solo, dripping

dripping with sweat

basted and ready

for the feast

dive right in

devour my sins

my aches, regrets

taste of bitter

acrid and acidic

poison of the tongue

covert, clandestine

duplicity

my own mastery

pierce of my hubris

every time I see your face

and bathe in your elegance

Your serene, pink flesh grace

I remember all I've done

I remember all we've become

misery my gift

flavour the feast

until the veil is lifted

and blame can't be shifted

needle to the groove

music to face

baste me...baste me

just in case

baste me...in forgiveness

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: This is what I love about Stream of Consciousness writing - never know quite where something is going to take me when I start. This was supposed to be a slightly surreal, slightly sensual poem...then it took a turn.

Hope you enjoyed it!

Here are some other things:

Stream of Consciousnesssurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryinspirationalart

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 days ago

    Sir Paul, no matter what you're basted with, can I roast and eat you? Ngl, your poem made me so hungry hahahahhaa. Jokes aside, I loved the deep ending! 🍩🥐

  • At first I was aroused (and hungry), then I was intrigued (still hungry) and by the end I was enamored of the entire poem (and had to make myself a turkey sandwich). Haha, sorry, I'm feeling a bit silly right now. But I truly enjoyed your poem. 😁

  • John Cox9 days ago

    This did take a turn, Paul, but I think I got a little lost. As you mention in your note at the end, it began with surreal imagery and then transitioned to sensual, but after that it appeared to wander fairly broadly as it featured sin eating and several suggestive comments about how difficult and even repugnant the consumption of that sin would be. From this perspective, basting might be suggestive of failed attempt at masking reality much like if a cut of steak has gone bad, no amount of steak sauce will make it palatable. But then the tone changes abruptly with ‘Until the veil is lifted and blame can’t be shifted.’ Although this feels like the key to understanding the poem, you have one more surprise up your sleeve when you liken basting to forgiveness. Either the meaning of basting has shifted from basting to flavor/mask to forgiveness, or I have missed its meaning entirely. Hence my confusion. The challenge for interpreting a complex poem (which this is) is determining the meaning of the symbols. I not sure I know what you intended basting to symbolize. Even when we allow, so to speak, a poem to wander where it will, a surrendering of conscious management of the process is not the same as scribbling random bits of nonsense. In essence it cedes control to our subconscious which always has something to say whether we understand it or not. I have a hard enough time understanding my own subconscious mutterings, let alone deciphering someone else’s. So there you have it. I wandered into your poem and can’t find my way back out of it. Help me! I’m lost in Paul’s pysche!

  • The imagery of basting, flavors, and the feast creates a unique metaphor for the complexities of human emotions and experiences. We're very happy to read this work, “liked" it, and hope to read more of your works, thank you very much for sharing this wonderful journey of the soul, subscribed.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 days ago

    I'd say this took a turn!! I thought we were going for humorous and sexy, but this turned deep real quick! That being said... that walnuts line made me laugh so hard!! Great work Paul!!

  • Kendall Defoe 10 days ago

    I guess you need a master baster. 😏

  • TahimaAni10 days ago

    great 👍

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.