Poets logo

Basically Brain Dead by 35?

A Poem About Old myths dying Hard, Version 2

By Carolyn F. ChrystPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Image by Gordon Johnson from Pixabay

At 19, I was told and I read

by 35 your brain, basically dead

I balked, spit and sputtered

did not, would not, could not

believe these ‘facts’ uttered.

Taking all I was learning

biology and psychology

ancient literature and theater

yes, crystalizing brain, my dear

it made no sense, none at all

ring of truth it lacks, I fear.

From history lessons and

a love affair with John Adams

(yes, second president J. A.)

as well as a climb up the family tree

I found counter-evidence

in abundance. Cognitive death

at 35 just can't be.

The folk who pooled brainpower

to create the land of the mostly free

contradict the myth of cognitive decline.

Ben (84), John (90), Thom (83)

all lived a very long time

with minds sharp as ever.

Uncle Bryon too at 92.

A deeper look and many

just ordinary folk lived to be very old

thinking clearly all their days

it is true, averages are misleading.

News Flash- today’s 19-year-olds

in psychology and biology

are told their brain grows until they die

a caveat must be applied

as long as used in novel ways

taste, travel, explore

all unknown before

neural connections thicken

strengthen and grow

well dang didn’t I tell you so!!

My perspective didn’t change

the medical world did.

I listened for the ring of truth

the bell rang loud and clear

to not fear, the ‘fact’ of decline

will fade with time, not cognition

if you heed the warning

add new to every dawning

humans evolved to survive and thrive

not fall apart, decline, degrade

I learned at 19 it is my choice

what I do or don’t

determines my ancient days.

Not averages or folklore

decline is not inevitable

not denial but certainty

5 decades of examining

lives lived fully and well

I can if I want to

if I try, live full-on

until I die.

Version 1 originally published in Medium.com as a poetry prompt challenge response. Version 2, edited and revised for Vocal

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Carolyn F. Chryst

Has had an eclectic life — Waitress, Actress, Zoo Curator, Story Teller, Poet, Exhibit Designer, Writer, Farmer and Educator.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.