Poets logo

Baseball

Dealing with the aftermath

By Tanner PeifferPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Baseball sitting on the carpet

Surrounded by shards of glass

It’s been there for who knows how long now

A nightmare that’s ended but hasn’t passed

***

In the morning I search for energy

But it tugs on my periphery

And in the evening there it lies as well

A golden gate to memoir hell

***

I can’t believe I haven’t cleaned

The remnants off my floor

Of that horseshit horsehide disaster

I don’t know what I’m waiting for

***

Across my damaged room I pace

The search for meaning on my face

Closing my eyes to comprehend

The quickest path to fever’s end

It’s nowhere…

***

Forgetting what you hoped to remember

Always is the only never

And so through wilderness we chase

The memory of a future place

***

This baseball won’t go anywhere

Without my steady shaking hand

I realize that I must be moving

Even when I cannot stand

***

I’m going to clean the mess today

Letting go of my frustrated bitter chains

I may never know who made that throw

But I want to restore what I call my own

***

Though I’ll never see the priceless dream

In that pane of glass again

I can try to clear this nightmare away

Out of my room and out of my head.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Tanner Peiffer

I'm an aspiring poet, writing from both personal experiences and surreal concepts, with the goal of inspiring anyone who may read. I hope my art can strike a chord and shift a perspective or two. 20 years old.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.