Poets logo

Banned Weapons according to the Conventions of Warfare

Tríocha 's'a Cúig #1 The Battlefield of Love

By Conor DarrallPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
18
Banned Weapons according to the Conventions of Warfare
Photo by Alexander Krivitskiy on Unsplash

Such solemn rules exist in warfare now,

Conventions to which combatants all swear,

My strong defence begins to break and bow,

I feel the hangman's noose of raven hair,

And taste the heartbeat dancing on my lips,

You touch my wrist with crackling fingertips.

-

Conventions t0 which combatants all swear,

Are tossed aside as you walk through the gloom,

My eyes draw to the deadly smile you wear,

White phosphorous that sears those in the room.

Your napalm legs ignite a village fire,

Your eyes ensnare with glinting razor wire.

-

My strong defence begins to break and bow,

As closer you advance so I can hear,

I feel a landmine blast across my brow,

As phosgene whispers seep into my ear.

Your cheek upon my stubble beckons in,

Nerve-agent chills that dance across my skin.

-

I sense the hangman's noose of raven hair

Entwine around my throat, the soldier caught,

And offer up a simple, wordless prayer,

Your perfume kicks the stool and rope pulls taut.

This prisoner of war is now enslaved,

And cursed by love and never to be saved.

-

You touch my wrist with crackling fingertips,

That pull me to the shadows from the din,

and war-crime smiling at Your easy win,

You, Morrígan, lean forth with victor's grin,

And taste the heartbeat dancing on my lips.

---------

This is written in the form of 'Tríocha 's'a Cuig' (Tríocha agus a cúig - 'Thirty and Five') which I've developed as a slightly more 'dangerous' alternative to Ciardi's Trenta-Sei. CD

love poems
18

About the Creator

Conor Darrall

Short-stories, poetry and random scribblings. Irish traditional musician, sword student, draoi and strange egg. Bipolar/ADD. Currently querying my novel 'The Forgotten 47' - @conordarrall / www.conordarrall.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.