Poets logo

Banana Bread

I feel like I may be just like my banana bread.

By A Lady with a PenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Banana Bread
Photo by Lucian Alexe on Unsplash

Why can't I make banana bread?

Why can't I do it?

-

I want it to taste equivalent to my Mom's

I want to be able to serve it to guests

and to hear them exclaim “You must share with me your secret”

-

But there is nothing admirable about mine

-

It never turns out right

Not once

Not ever

-

It always comes out dense

Never right

Never fluffy

-

I've tried different rising agents

Baking soda

Baking powder

-

Effort has no relation to my results

The product is always a dim, heavy, viscid disaster.

-

Yet I keep trying

Will I ever figure it out?

-

What has made the world think that spongy, delicate, and indulgent is the proper way?

-

Today I make it for my daughter

Adding chocolate m&ms

They make rainbows in the batter

-

She will be so joyful

A colourful surprise just for her

She doesn't know I can't compare

-

Instead, she dances with pleasure

Each sugared tasteful is worthy and comfortable

-

Don't you see

To her, I'm the best at everything

She looks up at me through rose-coloured glasses

-

To her I'm pink

Her favourite colour

The best thing in the world

-

From her eyes there is no way that my banana bread could fail.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

A Lady with a Pen

Caroline Robertson's, books are beloved by both adults and children alike for their illustrations and engaging stories. She takes readers on an adventure, giving them the opportunity to explore different cultures, settings, and characters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.