Poets logo

Balls

An Unused Situation

By Kendall Defoe Published about a year ago 1 min read
3
Balls
Photo by Sindre Aalberg on Unsplash

Consider the joke,

and the smile on your face;

do you notice, miss?

love poemssad poetrysurreal poetrysocial commentary
3

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Martha Agnesabout a month ago

    Kendall, glad to see you noticed my story. I have an idea for an unretired (pro)'fessor like yourself. Do you teach writing, literature, etc.? If so, could you give a writing assignment to a class and it be a contest, results decided by the students in the class, with the three winning pieces then being submitted to Vocal. By the class. Together--everybody seeing the process you yourself are using so dynamically? Knowing you a bit already, I would guess you may already be doing this. BTW, this little piece about balls is amusing, thought-provoking, clever. As in "How can I get my writing noticed on Vocal? If nobody reads my stuff, how can I grow as a writer? How could this idea be developed into something more...???" Garrison Keillor said once on Prairie Home Companion, that as a beginning writer evaluating his own work, he would play doctor and wrap the stethoscope around his own neck and start pumping that rubber balloon! He said it a lot better. His first stuff sucked, in other words. My first thing was a play I wrote at age 12 for my sixth-grade class. Next, at age 14, I wrote a "Dear George" letter to George Reed for my 18-year-old older sister who really needed to shake off a determined suitor. Writers gonna write. You just can't stop us. Do you have time to read the poems I've been dropping on the site? I know you are busy but hey--one-minute reads!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.