Poets logo

Balloon Strings

Some poem-ish thing about a toxic time.

By Mari Vic Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Balloon Strings
Photo by Adi Goldstein on Unsplash

Pop, pop,

Balloon strings hold my hands.

They fling me to the sky,

like a pop, pop doll.

Pop, pop, you go.

Balloon reds and balloon blues.

Up high I go.

“Pop, pop” you go.

You say ‘cut those, my strings’

But they’re not your strings.

They’re my strings,

my balloon strings.

You ask ‘Why pop-pop, with balloon strings?’

balloon strings, on my hands.

‘You’ll fall’ you say.

But I didn’t pop-pop, with balloon strings.

You popped, with balloon strings,

balloon strings, on my hands.

My balloon strings.

Please don’t let me fall, balloon strings.

Pop, pop, you go.

‘I don't want to see you go,’

‘I can’t let you go,’

Pop, pop above me.

Pop, pop, below me.

Pop, pop, to have me.

But I’ve already tied

my balloon strings.

Why would you pop-pop,

with balloon strings

on my hands.

You popping man, let go of my strings.

You popping man, don’t untie my strings.

Pop, pop you go.

Down, down, I go.

Balloon strings wrap around me,

Balloon strings ground me.

Pop pop again,

Down, down again.

With you,

again.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Mari Vic

Mari Vic (pen name) resides in California where she earned an associates degree in Film and Electronic Media. She has worked a screenwriting internship with One Productions. Mari writes themes merging nature and human sentiment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.