Poets logo

Bakes

My Mother's Perfect Prize

By Kendall Defoe Published 2 months ago 1 min read
13
You never know what you are missing until...

How do you write a poem about a poem?

How do you write about a memory that is still so real?

A beautiful heated glow of flavour and love,

It still remains the one traditional dish -

The one true meal I could enjoy -

I continue to beg and plead for from her sweet hands.

And there are many of you who have never had one;

There are many of you who are wondering:

Noun or verb? Verb or noun?

That is the beauty of this beauty:

You will never know.

Your heart will not care.

So true...

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

social commentaryGratitudeFree VerseFirst DraftFamilyfact or fiction
13

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a month ago

    Dinner with Mom, even when only a memory, is nevertheless as sweet! Well-wrought!

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler2 months ago

    Charming, Kendall. They say sharing food is the ultimate expression of love, and who better than from your mom, no matter what the meal is.

  • I'm with Novel too on this one! I'm hungry and my mouth is watering but I don't know for what hahahahahahaha. Loved what you did here!

  • The smell of fresh bread always got to me, especially mom's overnight buns.

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    Lovely, intimate, and so true!!!

  • Martha Agnes2 months ago

    PS: Go beyond the luscious smell of an apple pie as it bakes in her oven--to the awareness that you will likely lose this woman one day. Or go the other way to a virtually primordial memory that it was the arms of your mother into which you crawled for safety after a spill, a painful confusing burn, a run-in with your dad or a sibling or a playmate...The possibilities are myriad. The themes are universal. :)

  • Martha Agnes2 months ago

    Kendall, were I your writing coach I would say: Go deeper. The presentation is somehow too trite, too shallow to cover the heights and depths of a man expressing comfort/joy/worry/irritation/grief in a life-sustaining relationship with his mother. The simple couplet style adds to the impression of a more-childlike poem, rather than the contemplative call to values and to memory that would come from the deep mind of a son whose life has intertwined with his mother's since conception....Great poetry comes from one's higher mind, the unconscious, the hook-up with our Source. That has long been called the Muse. I would call it the living, vital connection one has with the spirit that is our true identity. If I want to write a poem on a certain topic, I ask my higher mind to create it for me: I may wait for months--and then one day, sitting in the mall on a Saturday, the poem flows through my mind -- thank heavens I always keep a journal with me. It is your job to develop your mind, broaden your vocabulary, read whatever you are drawn to as you absorb the world around you--but it is the High Self that inspires sublimely memorable lines of verse.

  • Dana Crandell2 months ago

    I think I'm on board with Novel on this one. On the other hand, it does make me think about all of the amazing things I miss from Mom's hands.

  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    What the heck Kendall, now my mouth is watering and I don't know for what. You are such a tease,,,hugs to Mom,,,none for you.

  • Catherine Nyomenda2 months ago

    I could feel you in this poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.