Poets logo

Bad Hair Revolution

Afro Hate Exists

By Tiffany Gordon Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
50
Author Pictured

In Society's eyes, my hair type is considered "Bad" & "Ugly" because it is NOT straight…

It is often bullied and ignored...

because it expresses itself differently…

**in an outward motion; instead of a downward one…

This negative assessment of my crown has led me to ask…

Am I the only one that sees Beauty in textured hair?

**Please---don't receive my question wrong…

Linear tresses are just as beautiful…

But…

Afro-textures deserve their time on the pageant stage...

Because they rarely get the chance to smile & wave...

What has my, afro of wool, ever done to anyone anyway?

It has never assaulted, abused, or demeaned anybody...

*So why is it vilified and thrown in handcuffs every time it shows up at a cultural party?...

<My Answer> : Society needs a new lens prescription…

Now, come closer…

Do you see...what I do?

From my Heavenly viewpoint…

I see…

a sea full of...

soft...fluffy...regal... & beautiful cotton-candyesque afros…

sprinkled across…

Earth's landscape…

Each elegantly...

shining like diamonds in the night sky...

***

Now, Listen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

all of you fro-folk…

struggling with low hair-esteem…

Please ignore the haters...

and take society's opinion with a grain of salt…

For, it has become extremely...

*Shallow…

*True-Beauty-Blind

*Short-Sided…

*& Mean

***Therefore***

Ladies and gentlemen with the kinky manes…

Proudly rock those luscious fros and learn to ignore the lames!

✌🏾

inspirational
50

About the Creator

Tiffany Gordon

I am a super-spiritual, fun-loving artist, writer, & peer-counselor residing in the Pacific Northwest. I am also an Institute of Children's Literature alumna who enjoys writing about the triumph of the human spirit.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • The Dani Writer17 days ago

    I absolutely LOVE this! And your hair is BEAUTIFUL! Makes me miss when mine was short and full of luscious coils...😋

  • sleepy drafts3 months ago

    This is awesome! I totally agree. Rock those curls! 💗💓

  • I must admit, I'm completely lame (as my wife would gladly tell you). But I still think you rock those curls!

  • Linda Rivenbark7 months ago

    I totally agree that "society needs a new lens prescription". All colors and styles of hair are beautiful!. Keep telling your truth and set the world straight about all textures of hair. Well done!

  • Real Poetic8 months ago

    I love textured hair! 🩵

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    I totally agree. I'm tired of hearing that an afro isn't “professional” or “pretty” its gorgeous and if I could Id have one too! You're magnificent ☺️

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    Wow. I just wrote/published a lack of black pics story, this one is like a blessing dropped into my lap at the right moment. Cool Fro Do.

  • I complimented a woman where I worked on her new hairstyle (A fro)and she obviously ignored me and didn't approve of my comment. I thought she looked great. A coworker told me she wears wigs. I didn't know that and it wouldn't have made a difference. I haven't since.

  • This was powerful! 💖

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.