Poets logo

Bacon cooking in the background

a poem I wrote while waiting for my bacon to be done

By Joe NastaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Bacon cooking in the background
Photo by Michelle @New Layer Photography on Unsplash

What if we thought about each other

at the same time accidentally

*

but ignored both of our easily located

phone numbers published on the internet

*

(that was just another spam call concerning

my car's limited warranty although I do

*

not have a driver's license) and wrote poems

to each other instead? Excruciating fun!

*

After work I take a break from feeling

bad to take a hot shower, walk the dog

*

and get ready for my other job

by reading Frank O'Hara earnestly

*

on camera. On Saturdays when the bus

wouldn't come for another hour

*

the shoulder of Bothell Way NE reminded

me of walking other highways with a beer,

*

thinking the same things, wondering

if you (or anyone) are thinking of me.

This poem is a part of my lunch poem series. During the month of December 2021, I will be reading poems by Frank O'Hara's Lunch Poems and writing some of my own. If you like this, check out my profile for more! And watch me read a poem by Frank:

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Joe Nasta

Hi! I'm a queer multimodal artist writing love poems in Seattle, one half of the art and poetry collective Eat Yr Manhood, and head curator of Stone Pacific Zine. Work in The Rumpus, Occulum, Peach Mag, dream boy book club, and others. :P

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.