Poets logo

Back Where I Started

Why does life tend to hit that reset button?

By Daniel CottlesPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
1
Back Where I Started
Photo by Mike Tinnion on Unsplash

I found my path that I chose

I work hard to achieve my goals

But out of nowhere

The storm of reality blows

It tore me down;

I just look around

I look at the scattered remains

Their damaged and can’t be saved

My heart grows dark

My mood turns dull

I have to start over again

This repetition is starting to take a toll

Building and tearing down

Questioning then starting

When history continues to repeat

The future becomes haunting

I built this career

I know it was only four years

But that’s time I won’t get back

I put in the work

More hours than just a nine to five

Only to be forced to stop

This isn’t right

But I guess that’s life

It tears you down when you’re at the top

Then when you’re at the bottom it stomps

My face is in the dirt

I try to get up

But the pain is too great

I’ll just rest here for the day

As I lay and contemplate

I wonder if I must be insane

I try and try again

Expecting a different outcome

Then life prevails again

What new path can I construct?

How can I get out of the rut?

The tables never turned

I work hard; I build up

Then life tears it down

I’m just stuck…

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Daniel Cottles

Just a Alabama hick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani7 months ago

    Heartbreaking. Hope things get better!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.