Poets logo

Back to the Start

Comfort in Reverse

By No Real BalancePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Back to the Start
Photo by Chandler Cruttenden on Unsplash

You want a poem about comfort? Here

.

Words delivered on accident. What celebrated

excuses made to inquire, claw past curiosity

overflowing in baskets of flowers

curtains moved, eyes peep through, to a home

Sleep beholds temper within us

Comfort rests on lids best closed.

.

Now for word limit.

.

I once knew comfort. I knew it real good. I wooed it under a stairwell. Comfort petted, comfort called pretty. I vowed comfort forever. Until my husband sat me down at the kitchen table to make a decision. I chose leaving, in the end.

.

I would have taught forever. Even after winning the lottery. I would have magic field tripped through the universe. I would have spun and spun and spun under hand crafted flags like that lady on the side of a mountain singing some auf wiedersehen alphabet. If asked, I would have repeated it one thousand times over.

.

But something happened after a Friday in March, and I awoke screaming in a classroom. Now, I can’t remember who or what is responsible for pressing the designator. Because it all imploded into prismatic clouds of glass. Poof. Nothing left. No pieces to duck tape back together.

.

Comfort does not exist.

It goes both ways.

Composed backwards.

.

33

fact or fiction
2

About the Creator

No Real Balance

Reluctant Writer. Teacher.

Hawking vocal contests for love letters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Melissa Ingoldsby2 years ago

    Hmm so very introspective I enjoyed that

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.