Poets logo

Babushka : Doll

Poppy's Prompts : January Edition

By JPublished 6 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
"A pseudonym to fool him" - Kate Bush

They called me 'Matryoshka'

Little Matron

Matron: noun

: a woman marked by dignity / distinction.

Matron: noun

: a female

animal kept for breeding.

: noun

: person, place, or thing?

none:

(nun?)

noun:

Narn . Marn . Marm

bundled up rightly in tightly spun yarn.

Soft supple fabrics, perfected for touching.

Holding.

Swaddling

"for safety"

in savoury layers.

(saviorly?)

Oh!

So tightly!

Too tightly,

all around myself.

Oh.

Bandaged in canopic patchwork

to embalm in my own being

"and think about what you've done"

beneath the wonders of mankind.

Once, they called me 'Matryoshka'

I am not so little now.

There is more of me

Moor :

than before of me.

My dignity's stripped,

my distinction is peeling;

revealing the rough grain beneath.

Unsealing each layer

"Yes!"

willingly,

killing each version

(virgin?)

finally, to be seen.

Now, they call me Babushka

Babushka: now : noun

1. a kerchief for the head

2. an elderly woman; grandmother.

A crown

A crone

Both meant to be worn

all around myself.

Oh.

Plastered in cathartic past selves

to preserve my sense of meaning

and think about who I've been

beneath the wonder of mankind.

'Once', they called me.

.........................................................................................................................

Prosesurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetry

About the Creator

J

I will not say: do not weep; for not all tears are an evil

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Tracy Kreuzburg 4 months ago

    It's getting creepy now haha. I wrote a poem called Matryoshka a couple months ago. I have it submitted to 2 magazines that only accept unpublished works so I have not shared it. The whole concept of the dolls always has fascinated me and is why I ened up writing the poem. 'Plastered in cathartic past selves to preserve my sense of meaning and think about who I've been beneath the wonder of mankind.'- Beautifully written.

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    This is lovely J. I love the reference to mother, woman, female.

  • Poppy 6 months ago

    So creative, clever and informative. You showed real talent here

  • Stephanie Hoogstad6 months ago

    This is a very well thought-out poem, and yet it also has this loose, free kind of transformation to it. I love how you play on the different names for Babushka dolls to show the speaker’s transformation, as well as the incorporation of the different definitions. The rhythm is also beautifully tranquil. Well done.

  • Margaret Brennan6 months ago

    well done.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    This is really well done. "Plastered in cathartic past selves to preserve my sense of meaning and think about who I've been beneath the wonder of mankind." Amazing words.

  • Suze Kay6 months ago

    The way you played with words and their homonyms gave me a real thrill. I love the loose, transformative nature of this poem.

JWritten by J

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.