Poets logo

The Sticks

Tarkovsky, again?

By JPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
In The River Styx - Meinrad Craighead

Ancient unforgiving tree,

O would that your boughs could bend

for the lowly likes of me

Still; unyielding be

Pearls to swine ye never lend,

ancient unforgiving tree

Eyes unclouded see

Fraying blindfold, ever mend

for the lowly likes of me

Mythic tragedy

One more Hero's Journey penned,

ancient unforgiving tree

Pay the boatman's fee

Once more 'round the river bend

for the lowly likes of me

Sweet purgatory

Sentenced to your garden tend,

ancient unforgiving tree,

for the lowly likes of me.

nature poetryVillanelle

About the Creator

J

I will not say: do not weep; for not all tears are an evil

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    I never knew of Tarkovsky, but he sounds fascinating to have died so young-ish. I learned something new. Great ode to him. I think.

  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    I like Tarkovsky, too. 😉

  • This was so hauntingly beautiful! Loved your Villanelle!

JWritten by J

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.