Poets logo

Axis

A Poem

By Heaven FullerPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
October 30, 2018

‘Axis’

He had a movement,

Similar to an ocean without waves,

He swayed in his own rhythm,

And swam in his own rain.

I didn’t know him,

But I wish I did.

At first glance I was scared,

Intimidated by the fear of being afraid,

He burned his eyes into my skin,

And held his branding pupils in place.

I didn’t know him,

But I wish I did.

He would glare at me,

I don’t know why but I liked it,

He seemed intriguing, I was interested,

I couldn’t tell if it was love or hatred.

I didn’t know him,

But I wish I did.

At first I didn’t think much of it,

Now I can’t stop think about him,

Like a song stuck in my head,

On repeat as I scream at myself!

Never again.

I didn’t know him,

But I wish I did.

He was attached to me,

Like velcro on wool skin,

Like a cat tongue on fur skin,

I was gravitating towards him.

I didn’t know him,

But I wish I did.

At first I brushed him off,

Scared and worried about everything and nothing,

But he was something…

I didn’t know him,

But I wish I did.

He was the moon,

I was the sun,

Spinning in perfect harmony,

Rotating on an axis and staying in place.

I didn’t know him,

But I wish I did.

Glances turned to stares,

Smirks turned to smiles,

Tears turned to stars,

Everything then crumbled,

Fell apart.

I didn’t know him,

But I wish I did.

He spoke to me,

In a low whisper voice,

He relaxed my thoughts and calmed my nerves,

I was broken, he fixed me,

I began to unravel him.

He was like a large ball of yarn,

Knotted, tangled, frayed,

Bundled together in a broken heart.

He was strong, yet so weak,

I wanted to unravel him.

When I was finished he was there,

Healed, laughing, motivated, him.

I could never forget a smile like that.

One that was sad and empty,

Now ecstatic and him.

When I was finished I was gone,

I had wrapped myself in yarn,

He was there.

My thoughts were there but dead,

Now ecstatic and him.

He didn't leave,

He pulled the string and tied it,

Around himself and tied it,

He didn't leave,

I knew him,

I wish I never did.

He took my pain in his hands,

Sacrificing himself for me.

He didn't leave,

Now drowns in his own ocean.

I knew him,

Now, I wish I never did.

We spend our nights unraveling,

Each other from the darkness,

It's an on going game.

Now we are stuck with each other,

Oh well.

...

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.