Poets logo

Awareness

Poignancy Pronounced

By SyncerePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Today is a day that I like myself.

I can't really speak for anyone else

But as I come to grips with my own

Mental health

It helps to keep track of both lows & highs.

As I grow older and closer

To my imminent demise

My varying moods rarely are a surprise.

I no longer measure

The quality of any given day

By a mere fractional moment

Where I slip up and say

Something unkind to myself

If along the set path I may stray

Or denigrate another, forgetting to pay

A compliment forward

My attitude untoward

It's just my innate imperfection; it’s true.

I can waste precious time

With no reason or rhyme

Catch myself feeling immensely blue

But then I can call clearly to mind

Reasons to smile, aplenty I find

I'm in good health; I'm young and fit

And even in hard times, don't quit

Have all my teeth, a good head of hair

A shape so curvy it's unfair

Impaired vision, admittedly

Corrective lenses help me see

A mind advanced, also by chance

Good friends, few foes, lovely family

I have a relationship unmeasured

An unequivocal, priceless treasure

With the Grand Creator of us all

He's never failed to heed my call

I'm blessed beyond my wildest dreams

And even at my lowest, it seems

To be well worth both the good & strife

That comes with messy, uncertain

Yet beautiful life.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Syncere

Syncere (noun) An author/poet & barely tolerable human being. Masterful trickster of family & friends, as they actually support her. In another life, could've been a failed comedienne. In the grand scheme of the multiverse, she already is.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.