Poets logo

Avoidance

Writer’s dread

By J. JayPublished about a year ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2023
34
Drawn by me :)

dreading the blank slate

so I’ll run away for now

something will bloom, right?

____________________________________________________

Next:

Previous:

art
34

About the Creator

J. Jay

I like to share my art and writings, whether it's silly or serious. I'll also feature a comic I work on called Writing Whoas, which is about the joys and hardships of being a writer. Stick around to laugh or cry.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Bahahaha! Love it! Great job. 👏😁

  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    The funny thing for me is that writing poetry is my way of procrastinating all the other stuff I'm supposed to be doing. Comic drawing: "serious" stuff rings the doorbell, knocks on the window, tries to come in through the chimney. I say go away, I'm writing!

  • 💜💕

  • Adaiah Kirbyabout a year ago

    somehow it always blooms LOL, love it!

  • Lauraabout a year ago

    The poem "Avoidance" is a poignant reflection on the fear and uncertainty that comes with facing a blank slate, and the temptation to run away from it. The use of short, simple lines emphasizes the speaker's anxious thoughts and the urgency they feel to escape. The final lines, "something will bloom, right?" are particularly powerful, as they capture the speaker's hope that something positive will eventually come from their avoidance. It's a common feeling to want to delay difficult tasks or decisions, but ultimately, it's important to face them in order to move forward and grow. The poem captures the complex emotions surrounding avoidance and the struggles we face in overcoming it.

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    Both the cartoon and the verse - A Grade material

  • Lori Meltonabout a year ago

    Love this!! Awesome comic too!!!

  • J. R. Loweabout a year ago

    Bahahah how relatable. Love the comic!

  • veniceabout a year ago

    this is all too familiar, love it!

  • Abigail Penhallegonabout a year ago

    Well this was a call out I didn’t need. Very nice. :)

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    All too relatable! I have to get a painting done and I haven’t even started… today is supposed to be my day, but I’m burying my head in the sand and procrastinating instead. Lol Congrats!

  • Nichelle Calhounabout a year ago

    Succinct and we all can relate.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is great and so relatable. Congrats on the Top Story.

  • DJ Robbinsabout a year ago

    It's common as a creative person. I've read somewhere that a lot of writers do that. I certainly do it and am trying to work on a screenplay I started a couple days ago

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Aww I know this very well! Lol I love that cartoon too! Hearted and subscribed

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Nailed it! Great haiku! Congratulations on Top Story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.