Poets logo

Avenues

roads and paths what have you

By Jeffrey SparksPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Avenues
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

You were ashamed of me

And I never knew

I scrolled through old pictures

And never saw just us two

You were ashamed of me

And I don’t know why

Even when I shared with you,

my heart, my tears,

my fears, my life

You were ashamed of me

and hid me like your biggest doubt

and I am embarrassed to say I just found out.

even as I utter the words

I don’t see how

I never managed once to make you proud —

Proud to call me yours,

As opposed to your equivalence

of working chores,

but fortune never favors idle hands

so, I am forever grateful,

of others still faithful

I will undoubtedly make them proud of this man.

** Feeling a little nostalgic today. Without a shadow of a doubt, this has been the most difficult year of my life. Sometimes all you can do is persevere. I just published my first book. I know it is just a children's book, but you got to start somewhere. I have turned to writing this year as an outlet and I can honestly say, it has saved me (The paperback is going to live in the next 48hrs, and I could not be prouder of myself). Let's keep the dreams flowing everyone! **

performance poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.