Poets logo

Autumn

Leave no stem unbroken

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
2
Autumn
Photo by Jeremy Thomas on Unsplash

As the weather turns cooler

I don my finest outfit

Bright colors, gleaming

Red, gold, purple, yellow

All the psychedelic colors of the rainbow

Together in a harmonious outfit

Burnished finish beauteous

I sway as the whim takes me

Lightly, errant breezes caress me

I dance in the wind

Loose, graceful, unashamed

Unmindful of any who stop to watch

Displaying myself with wanton abandon

Delighting in the attention

Reaching out to my compatriots

I gently rub against them

Our mingled sighs one of contentment

Bird song accompanies our ballet

As we flit across this our wooden stage

I spend my days this way

Carefree, colorful, living in the moment

Until the moment ends

Until my stem breaks

And I drift to the ground

There to await my shroud of winter snow

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    What a journey this was! Beautiful poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.