Poets logo

Autism and Tactile Sensory Issue

This is a poem about shopping when you’re on the spectrum

By Ellie HopwoodPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Image source: wikihow

Go in

See something you like

pick it up

Try it on

Easy, Peasy, right?

But it isn’t at all…

Velvet and nylon

Make piercing shivers run down my spine

Woven wool, brushes against my skin

And slowly, but Surely

I pull further and further away from the racks

As t-shirts, dresses and jackets all grab at my nerve endings

And tug ruthlessly

Pulling, pushing, snapping and grating

Until I can no longer see the sky blue dress, which once pleased my eyes with calming swirls of Cerulean

I can only feel

Feel the shivers running through my veins

The zaps of electricity as one sleeve of each woollen jumper manages to brush against me

The mere sight of nylon place a frog in throat; wiggling, jumping and lurching

But velvet, oh velvet is my kryptonite

I see it and immediately want to run

So I do

It’s been all of fifteen minutes

I think…

And already I’m squeezing my mom hand

A silent signal we devised when i was a child

A signal that says so much, but equates to four simple words

Too much, must leave…

inspirational

About the Creator

Ellie Hopwood

Classics and Archaeology student trying to stumble through the baffling thing that is life while battling Anxiety disorder and peoples misconceptions of ASD. I write poetry, fiction; and on historical events/ people, and mental health

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ellie HopwoodWritten by Ellie Hopwood

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.