Poets logo

August 28th

For My Best Friend and Brother Liam

By Stuart NinehamPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

August 27th was a pretty chilled day, only fosters on my mind what else can I say, so I head to the pub nothing’s wrong is there, going for a beer with a mate having stories to share, so we went to the first pub without a care, first pint down another dozen to tear, I’ll tell you now a mate like mine rare, thought of everyone else and he was always there, any problem he would stop them with a simple solution, or come up with a short and sweet conclusion, but anyway there we were 1 fosters and a dark fruit, he said he had some news I didn’t have a clue, he said I’ve cleared my debts man I feel brand new, I said brother trust me I’ve just cleared mine too, he replied in that case next ones on you, so I did what any other man would do, I got the same again but this time with our go to shot, a little toast to ourselves and one to where we’ve got, I remember when we had nothing but we still made the most, of what we had no money but still going out with time to boast, about doing this that and the next, waking up everyday to a text, like g do you remember what happened last night reply, like no why? I didn’t do something stupid did I, so back to us at the pub just after our jäger, I had to tell him something that happened and to me it was major, me and my ex broke up a few weeks before now, he said how Na really how, but I didn’t need to explain, we sank our drinks now it’s time for the next pub again, more beer more cheer no more living in fear, he was chuffed to bits because soon his little one would be here, then the footie came on and we sat down to watch, Man U versus Tottenham and what a match it was, Man U lost 3-0 so it gave him a thrill, we walked out the pub drinks in hand with no chill, chanting who the fuck are man united, two brothers reunited, I whipped out my phone because I wanted everyone to see, that that man right there he’s family, we walked down even further than we were meant to go, then he through that pint and I ended the video, that pint on the floor with all the smashed glass, symbolized that we didn’t care about our past, but the time had come and we both knew too, we walked to the bus stop so he could catch either a first or a blue, the bus came so he said one love and I love you, then he went home so I did too, the next day August 28th something wasn’t right I hadn’t heard from him since I left him last night, but I went to work and I can’t lie I felt like shite, could hardly see with the sun shining so bright, simple day at work then I went for my last break, my phone rang i picked up then I felt myself shake, the news I couldn’t take, tears rolling down my face, called them back like no man this must be a mistake, you’re having a laugh this must be fake, then the words were said, with my face turning red, stu I’m not wrong, I’m really sorry mate but Cully’s gone, gone as I’m gone he’s not with us no more, are you sure, yeah stu he’s not with us no more, he was found this morning I don’t need to say another word, I still to this day can’t believe what I heard,

But while I’m writing this man I hope you can hear what I’m saying, I love you and I miss you man trust me I’m not playing, you had so much more give, so much more life to live, but I thank you for everything you said and did, brother you were there for me round every bend, and I know you’ll always be there till the very end.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.