Poets logo

Attention Span

Twenty-First Century Social Commentary

By Randy Wayne Jellison-KnockPublished about a month ago 1 min read
19
Attention Span
Photo by Pearse O'Halloran on Unsplash

Senryu for you

Fifteen seconds all that’s due

Comment & you’re through.

Stream of Consciousnesssocial commentarySenryuhumorFor Funfact or fiction
19

About the Creator

Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock

Retired Ordained Elder in The United Methodist Church having served for a total of 30 years in Missouri, South Dakota & Kansas.

Born in Watertown, SD on 9/26/1959. Married to Sandra Jellison-Knock on 1/24/1986. One son, Keenan, deceased.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen23 days ago

    Blame it on social media. We are all doomed. Clever.

  • The Dani Writer25 days ago

    Concentrated cheekiness...shines through all that meekiness 🤣 *I cannot be helped* 😆

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    I love me a squirrel! 😁

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a month ago

    Lol... Unfortunately, for some of us, fifteen minutes of fame has morphed into fifteen minutes of shame. I won't say who the current ringleader is, but I can tell you that they've extended their 15 min by several hours. Quit hogging all the shame! "In other news, Donald Trump has went off the deep..."

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    There's a deliciously flippant undercurrent happening here, and I love it!

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    This is brilliant...and it's something I fight with. I was born and lived a lot before smartphones, streaming and all that - check, I'm sorta old! lol. I find it difficult most days to commit to reading long pieces on here (saw what you had said to others) but that's not so much an attention span issue than a time issue. lol. Anyway, look at the amount of words your tiny senryu has generated in the comments - fine work sir!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Lol, like Hannah, I had to read it twice because I was like "Oh, that's it?" Lol. I mean, it reflects your title hahahahaha. Nowadays we have such short attention span. Well at least I do, lol

  • Rachel Deemingabout a month ago

    You know, I had fifteen seconds to spare and I thought "How can I put that to good use?" Et voila! Randy's senryu appears in my notifications. Perfect! And so on point.

  • Atomic Historianabout a month ago

    🤣 I love it Randy

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    Andy Warhol's 15 minutes squeezed into 15 seconds. Now that's a short attention span! Commentary about the nature of Vocal commentary perhaps? I do love a good provocateur.

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Humorously nailed it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Colleen Millsteed about a month ago

    I’m through haha. Nicely done Randy.

  • Mother Combsabout a month ago

    Great stuff, Bro... Oh, look, a squirrel!!!

  • Judey Kalchik about a month ago

    Andy Warhol would not be surprised that his predicted 15 minutes of fame has shrunk so significantly

  • Alex H Mittelman about a month ago

    Nice! Funny and I enjoyed!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a month ago

    I felt like this was asmr in poem form

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    I have no idea why, but that made me read it twice. Contrary!

  • A Suite Of Shortness Great stuff Randy

  • Celia in Underlandabout a month ago

    Brilliant! I'm an 80's kid...Planet of the Apes first time round...I got some attention span 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.